Image

Let's celebrate the 10th anniversary of the adoption of the Nagoya Protocol

In the context of the 10th anniversary of the adoption of the Nagoya Protocol, the UNDP-GEF Global Access and Benefit-sharing (ABS) Project, in partnership with the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, invites you to the Global ABS Conference 2020, an online event that will bring together the ABS community to celebrate the progress made in the last 10 years as well as to discuss the vision of “the ABS we all need” for the next years, in preparation for the post-2020 global biodiversity framework.

 

The Global Access and Benefit-sharing (ABS) Virtual Conference 2020 will focus on the exchange of experiences and lessons learnt from all the different ABS right holders (indigenous peoples and local communities, and governments) and stakeholders (researchers and research community as well as private sector) from provider and user countries, from developing and developed countries.

The Conference will be divided into five online sessions, held in late October and throughout November. All recordings will be available through the Global ABS Community.

 

Conference website: https://community.abs-sustainabledevelopment.net/event/global-abs-conference-2020/ 

 

How you can get involved. #theABSweALLneed

The conference’s theme is “the ABS we all need”, and it is meant to give a voice to everyone involved and impacted by the 3rd Objective of the Convention. Therefore, we are encouraging everyone interested in ABS to make a short video giving their unique perspective on ABS, including a happy birthday wish for the Nagoya Protocol. The aim is to help these messages reach the policy makers in preparation for the adoption of bold and impactful post-2020 decisions at COP 15. 

Post your messages on your personal social media channels with the hashtag: #theABSweALLneed. You can send them to absch@cbd.int for collection and possible sharing through SCBD social media and website.  

 

 

Agenda and Links to Registration

In this opening session, the ABS community commemorates the 10th anniversary of the adoption of the Nagoya Protocol and gets together to celebrate its contribution to global environmental governance, nature-based solutions and sustainable development. Hear what world leaders, authorities of multilateral organizations, indigenous and community leaders and many other ABS actors have to say about it and get inspired by their birthday wishes to the ABS we all need.

29 October 2020

9:00 AM EST
This session will be in English with French and Spanish interpretation. Click here to register.

How can scientists, as key users of genetic resources, be involved in policy making on access and benefit sharing and fully comply with the principles of the Nagoya Protocol? This session gathers governments and researchers to exchange experiences and challenges to fill the gap between present ABS implementation and the ABS we all need. 

4 November 2020

Asia- Pacific: 3 AM EDT (9 AM Brussels / 3 PM Bangkok).

This session will be in English with Russian interpretation. Click here to register.

Africa:  7 AM EDT (1 PM Brussels time / 3 PM Nairobi).

This session will be in English with French interpretation. Click here to register.

Latin America: 11 AM EDT (5 PM Brussels time).

This session will be in Spanish with English interpretation. Click here to register.

 

Private sector is critical for ABS. It contributes to nature-based solutions and offers opportunities for benefit sharing. Meet the companies that are taking the lead on ABS and biodiversity conservation and learn different perspectives on how to reach private sectors´ full potential for the well-being of people and planet through fair ABS deals.

11 November 2020

9:00 AM EST
Click here to register.

Indigenous Peoples and local Communities (IPLCs) are at the center of ABS. They are the custodians of biodiversity and right holders of traditional knowledge associated to genetic resources. Learn how IPLCs protect their practices and resources, which are their needs and how to address them in the post-2020 global biodiversity framework.

18 November 2020

9:00 AM EST
This session will be in English with French and Spanish interpretation. Click here to register.

World leaders, indigenous peoples and local communities and non governmental organizations invite to a journey on the key messages and lessons learned derived from this webinar series. In this closing session, participants will discuss challenges and opportunities for a new decade of Access and Benefit Sharing in the post-2020 biodiversity framework.

25 November 2020

9:00 AM EST
This session will be in English with French and Spanish interpretation. Click here to register.